s
HOME   ABOUT   MENU   WINE   GROUPS   PRESS & REVIEWS    RESERVE   PARRILLA  GALLERY  SUSTAINABILITY

 

Bar Harbor Winter Beer Fest 2017 ||||

Bar Harbor Chamber of Commerce|||| January 2017

_____________________________________________________________

 

Rated in the top ten of Unique Restaurants In Maine June 2016 ||||

We are thrilled to make any top ten list, let alone being listed as number 2 in Maine.  Recognition is always sweet and we are listed with some other great places, so we are in good company.

These 10 Unique Restaurants In Maine Will Give You An Unforgettable Dining Experience |||| Michelle Starin

The Ten Most Highly Rated Restaurants In Maine |||| Michelle Starin

 

Taste of Bar Harbor: Chef's Table 2016 ||||

Taste of Bar Harbor: Chefís Table May 2016|||| Maine Magazine

 

FOOD REVOLUTION DAY! May 20th 2016 ||||

On the morning of May 20th, MDI Hospital partnered with Havana to host a hands-on cooking demonstration and food education session at Conners Emerson School as well as an evening fundraiser for the Conners Emerson greenhouse project. Havana head chef Josh Crotty and MDI Hospitalís Marisa Marinelli taught fifth and sixth graders from Conners Emerson School how to make their own vegetarian tamales.

Food Revolution Day |||| Jamie Oliver's

Special thanks to Peter Logue for the creation of this Video.

 

 

HAVANA FARM DINNER July 22 2016 ||||

Friday, July 22, 2016. Havana restaurant and College of the Atlantic (COA) are partnering to host a four-course Farm Dinner at the collegeís Beech Hill Farm. The dinner is a benefit for Share the Harvest, a COA student-led food access program for low-income island families. The event begins at 6:00 pm with drinks, hors d'oeuvres, and a tour of the farm. The price per ticket is $125.

Get Tickets|||| COA Beech Hill Farm

 

SEAFOOD THROWDOWN at the Comonground Fair 2014 ||||

Seafood Throwdowns are designed to be fun events that help the public understand the ecological, social, food system, and economic importance of locally caught seafood and community-based fisheries. The event was sponsored by Northwest Atlantic Marine Alliance and Penobscot East Resource Center. Its purpose is to educate the audience about under-appreciated species using locally caught seafood. Thatís not all. The chefs could only bring with them 3 of their favorite ingredients from their home-base. They were thengiven $25 and 15 minutes to find the rest of their ingredients from the fairís farmers market.

Seafood Throwdown: 2 Local Chefs, 1 Mystery Fish|||| Bangor Daily News

 

FOOD REVOLUTION DAY! May 16th 2014 ||||

Food Revolution Day

On the morning of May 16th, MDI Hospital partnered with Havana to host a hands-on cooking demonstration and food education session at Conners Emerson School as well as an evening fundraiser for the Conners Emerson greenhouse project. Chef Alex Klein led the students in preparing chimichurri.

Food Revolution Day |||| Jamie Oliver's

 

MAINE MAGAZINE'S JULY 2012 ISSUE ||||

 

 

President OBAMA VISITS HAVANA ||||

Excerpt taken from Bangor Daily News (7/18/10):

“It’s pretty amazing,” Havana owner Michael Boland said of the Obamas’ visit to the restaurant in Bar Harbor on Saturday night. He said he, his wife, Deirdre Swords, and several members of the Havana staff got to chat with the president and first lady during their meal.

“They were very easy to connect with,” Boland said. “They were really genuine.”

The Obamas talked with Swords and Boland about yoga and about their daughters, the restaurateur said. Boland and Swords also have two girls, Zoe, 4, and Juno, 6 months.

The president had paella and Mrs. Obama had lobster thermidor, according to Boland. Both had martini cocktails and, for dessert, the president had tres leches, a traditional Latin-style cake, and the first lady had flan.

After eating, the first couple posed for photos with restaurant staff, and when time came to pay, the president used his credit card, leaving a “very generous” tip, Boland said.

“He passed that test with flying colors,” he said, adding he plans to keep the credit card slip. “It’s got his signature on it. It’s pretty awesome.”

 

Bangor Metro |||| Sept. 2010 Goodness on the Table

Michael Boland Receives Tourism Award |||| Press Release

Maine Ahead |||| Chef to Chef

 

maine home & design |||| september 2010
mainehomecover
"Fresh From Maine"
Click here to view full article

 

yelp yelp review ||||
Five Stars - Marcy R. Somerville, MA 5/6/2012

We had a wonderful experience at Havana to celebrate my boyfriend's 30th birthday. I had called ahead to request whether they could do something special, and they went above and beyond to help us celebrate the occasion. When he was away at the bathroom, the manager came over to confirm everything, along with our waitress. The service was all-around incredibly impressive. I have a gluten allergy, and our waitress Meredith was so kind and informative about what all my options were. She double-checked everything with the chef, and I was excited to find out I could have many of the entrees and specials! They were extremely accommodating and celiac-friendly, and Meredith made the whole experience comfortable. In addition to fantastic service, the food was delicious! Everything was cooked to perfection and flavorful- from the mussels appetizer, the seafood paella and the poached haddock (our main entrees), and the locally made blueberry basil icecream that we ordered for dessert, we thoroughly enjoyed everything! The ambience was romantic and intimate, perfect for celebrating a special occasion, while still feeling casual and relaxed.

Overall, we loved this restaurant and will definitely return on future trips to BH!


Five Stars - Andrea C. - Stoughton, MA 9/29/2011

LOVED this place!

My fiance and i had dinner here earlier in september on a friday night. we didn't make our reservation until that evening and lucky for us they could accomodate us for a later reservation that same night. When we got to the restaurant we were thought it was interesting that this place was in a building that looks like a house, but when we got inside it felt warm and cozy. we got there a little early and the hostess gave us the option to wait for our table inside or to be seated sooner out on the patio. since it was decent outside we decided be seated out on the patio. i forgot our waitresses name but she was great and we had excellent service. the owner, i think his name is mike, stopped by our table also because he noticed i was checking out the wine list (which is more like a wine book) and wanted to check if i needed help selecting any wine. he was very friendly, asked us where we were from and welcomed us to bar harbor and went on his merry way. The food was delicious! i love that Havana uses fresh local ingredients and it was all put together so well. we got the crabcakes for appetizer which was awesome. for dinner i had the charrasco hangar steak which was perfect in every way! i highly recommend it! my fiance had a fish dish, i think it was a special, i don't remember what it was specifically but he loved it and cleaned his plate! As for drinks... my fiance ordered a cuba libre (rum and coke) and it was the best damn rum and coke either one of us has ever had (i had to steal a few sips myself)!!! the drink was brought to the table with the rum and coke separated. the coke came in a glass bottle (it was also made with real sugar, no high fructose corn syrup) and i wish i had asked what specific rum was used because the drink was super yummy (rum was similar to captain morgans but much better). i had a glass of rioja (spanish red wine) and it was really good. i never really understood what it meant when restaurants would recommend certain wine pairings with certain foods but i gotta say for the first time i knew my wine truely complimented my meal and enhanced the wonderful flavors in my mouth! Since we were on a roll we shared a dessert (something chocolate, it was good too) he had a cappucino and i had an herbal tea. Overall it was probably the best dining experience both of us have ever had and was worth every penny. if we ever go back to bar harbor (which we probably will) we will definitely make reservations to dine here again!


Click to read more YELP reviews of Havana


Email from Customer 11/03/09
Just a note of thanks for a great meal (actually two great meals) while vacationing in Bar Harbor.  It was our fourth trip up & each time we have dined at Havana Restaurant.  We're usually there on my birthday &, without a doubt, yours is my favorite restaurant in Bar Harbor.  We look forward to dining with you again on our next trip up from North Carolina.
Best regards,
The Russells  



tripadvisor trip advisor
||||



KEEPS GETTING BETTER

“We've been to Havana three times in the past five years, we go every time we visit Bar Harbor. Great care with the entrees, appetizer, and cocktails. Mojitos are really excellent. It's a little bit out of town but worth the short walk or drive. " | May 31 2012 | rstachel

 

ALWAYS A PLEASURE!
“My wife and I have been coming to the Bar Harbor for five consecutive years each May and trip to the area is not complete without a Saturday dinner at Havana! The food with a Cuban twist is always delicious, ambiance wonderful, wait staff attentive and the mixologist gifted. Don't miss it when you are in town!" | May 20 2012 | Eric D

OUTSTANDING SERVICE, GREAT FOOD
“The staff is welcoming and cordial. The menu changes monthly and is always interesting. The food blendings are wonderful and creative. AND the bartender makes the BEST mojito! All in all, this is consistently the best restaurant in the area. I have been going every year during my visits there. " | Feb 10 2012 | Priscillagw

 

BEST RESTAURANT IN BAR HARBOR!
“Havana provided the best dinner we had on our trip. The meal was outstanding! We had the buttered lobster and risotto, chili relleno (beyond delicious), and glasses of wine "from a keg." Who would've believed? They are the first restaurant in Maine to carry this type of wine, and it is fabulous. The owner came and chatted wine-talk with us, the service was great, the food was amazing. . . did I mention how marvelous the chili relleno was? Overall, an excellent restaurant that I'd highly recommend." | December 1 2012| WeLove2RunAway

 

fodorsChef's kitchen ||||

 

maine home & design |||| october 2008
mainehomecover

"The heart and soul of Havana lies squarely in the kitchen"
Click here to view full article
Click Here For Our Lobster Paella with Chicken and Chorizo Recipe


fodors Fodor's review ||||
“Soft jazz playing in the background sets the tone at this storefront restaurant on the edge of downtown Bar Harbor. The pumpkin-color walls and wood floors lend an air of sophistication. The Latin-influenced menu emphasizes local ingredients and changes weekly. There’s also a phenomenal wine list.”

frommers Frommer's review ||||
“Havana set a new creative standard for Bar Harbor when it opened in 1999. The spare but sparkling decor in the old storefront is as classy as any place in downtown Boston; the menu could compete in any major urban area. Though not specifically Cuban, it does lean toward South America in its accents: Expect appetizers such as jicama-and-coconut-stuffed shrimp, monkfish ceviche, and cakes of crab and roasted corn served with cilantro sour cream. Entrees could include filet mignon with a Cuban coffee and pepper rub, spicy "dragon" grilled tuna, a sesame-and-ginger salmon served over poblano mashed potatoes, or a Chilean black bean stew. Diners never go home unsatisfied. Finish with guava mousse in a chocolate waffle cone, coconut ice cream, or a pecan tart served with cinnamon gelato.”


nytimes the new york times ||||
WHAT’S DOING IN: Mount Desert Island
By Wayne Curtis | August 5, 2001
“Some of the island’s zestiest and most creative dinners are served at Havana, 318 Main Street, Bar Harbor, (207) 288-2822, which features local fare prepared to a salsa beat. Selections from the Latino fusion menu include Jamaican jerk rack of lamb and chili-coated salmon served over Cuban black beans.”


bostonglobe the Boston globe ||||
A WELCOMING INN BY THE BUSTLE OF BAR HARBOR
By Nancy Regis | September 24, 2006
“For dinner, there are many choices for many budgets, but I found an unexpected surprise in a Main Street restaurant called Havana. Deep red walls, wood floors and Buena Vista Social Club-style music created an intimate and warm setting for their delicious offerings, which they call “American fine dining with a Latin flair.”

chefmoz Chef Moz Dining Guide ||||
"This place is a quiet treasure.” | September 2001
“Whew. This place is great. Hands down. Outta sight.” | September 2001
Best in Bar Harbor “One of the best restaurants in Maine, elegant but not stuffy, we have dined all over the State and this is our favorite, a touch loud sometimes, ask for the back room overlooking the wine cellar.” | May 2005